NerdLounge
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Life acquisition failure

3 posters

Go down

Life acquisition failure Empty Life acquisition failure

Post by MisterDweeb Thu Jul 12, 2018 9:03 pm

I have a lot in common with a couple of recent letter writers from NerdLove prime - specifically Lost and Lonely from "What can you do if you're forever alone", and Blue (almost) Alien from "How do I get a life". I don't really know what I want out of this (and I'm bad at expressing myself, even understanding myself), but I want to say something, so I guess I'll just brain-dump.

A little bit of background : I came to the site ages ago, basically out of sexual frustration - I felt physical desire, but had absolutely no idea how to ask someone out, or what to say on a date. My main problems being that I'm not good at connecting to people, and that my life is frankly unimpressive. At some point I took on the idea of using dating as a compass/measuring stick for self improvement - if I can connect with people and have an interesting life to the point where I can have an enjoyable date, that's the goal. I'm mid-thirties now, like Lost and Lonely, and still no further forward. When I try to think of things I could do to make myself more interesting, I cast my mind back looking for things I can build on and come up with nothing. In the past, I rock-climbed a fair bit and enjoyed it a lot, especially when I climbed with a friend who's since moved away, but I was never good enough at it to make it part of my identity, and I've since lost momentum and gone back to square one. Similarly with running. As far as I can tell, my identity is failure. Most of my interaction with people outside work is currently playing board games and rpgs with a small friend circle - I had some vague pipedreams about running games, then writing adventures, then springboarding to other creative pursuits, but so far my experience running games h